When you go visit a chiropractor, they make adjustments to put your body back into alignment from the daily routines that throw your spine out of balance. Those misalignments cause all kinds of conditions to manifest and interrupt your life. Headaches, stiff shoulders, insomnia, etc… Your chakras work the same way. When one of our chakras are out of balance, we experience various afflictions that correspond to that chakra.

Our heart chakra is at the center of our seven chakras. It’s located (you guessed it) at the heart of your chest, the cadiac plexus. From the place of the heart we experience things like compassion, empathy, love, peace, balance and a good immune system.

Unfortunately, due to heartbreak, disappointment, rejection, abandonment, grief, shame and feelings of the like, most of us begin to shut down. it’s almost like a defense mechanism to protect ourselves from getting hurt again. Although it may seem counter-intuitive but during the times we want to close up the most, it’s probably the greatest time to remain open and make “adjustments” to keep our heart chakra in balance. Otherwise, the longer you remain closed off/shut down, the more work you’ll need to do to become realigned.

When we shut down, our heart chakra becomes unbalanced and as a result of this, we may experience symptoms such as depression, intolerance of self or others, loneliness, isolation, fear of intimacy, lack of empathy, narcissism, being critical, antisocial and withdrawn.

When I went through my yoga teacher training, I discovered that were a plethora of healing opportunities through the practice of yoga. Among many of them was a way to open and balance your heart chakra.

As time goes on these dysfunctional behaviors may lead to physical illnesses including disorders of the heart, lungs,thymus, breasts, shortness of breath, sunken chest, circulation problems, asthma, immune system deficiency, tension between shoulder blades and pain in the chest.

As I begin the journey of re-opening and healing, these are the poses that I really have played a vital role to my heart chakra healing:




How To: Beginning on all fours with your knees directly under your hips and your hands underneath your shoulders. On an inhale, lower your belly towards the ground and move your gaze upwards towards the sky. Then press into your hands to arch your back while moving your chin towards your chest to come into cat pose as you exhale.


How to: Start on both knees in a kneeling position and move your hands to your lower back for support. Slowly start to open your chest as you arch your back and start to reach your hands to your feet.

Fish Pose

How to: As you lay flat on your back, tuck both hands (palm down) underneath your bottom. Take an arch in your back, raising your shoulders off the ground and tilt your head back so that the crown of your head contacts the ground.

Bridge Pose

How to: Laying flat on your back, bring up your knees but leave your feet flat on the ground. Press through the bottoms of your feet to raise your hips. Straighten your arms and interlace your hands underneath your hips.


Upward Facing Dog

How to: While on your belly, place your hands on either side of you in a push-up position underneath your shoulders. Press into your hands and lift your body off the ground while only maintaining contact to the floor with the your feet.

Bound Angle Pose

How to: Laying flat on your back, bring your feet together and pull them in as close to your body as you can and let your knees drop to either side. For this one, you can use a bolster or block behind your shoulder blades for a more intense experience.

All healing takes time. Remember to be patient with yourself and don’t compare your progress to anyone else’s. You are unique and your journey to healing is simply that, YOURS. Do the things that you love. Afterall, the heart chakra is all about love! Watch one of your favorite movies, raise your vibrations with a sound bath, tend to your garden or have a cup of your favorite tea and breathe! Replenish and re-balance your heart chakra so that you can enjoy all of life’s beauty that it has to offer. We all come from love! <3

You deserve to have the best version of you!